The Man in Black

LJHS02

Ok, so either somehow the US Postal Service is on a mission to make stamps cool again, or I am just getting old. Is there just a point in life where you suddenly appreciate the artistry of stamps? If so, is it mid-35, because this is not the first time I have been totally stocked to receive a cool stamp in the mail…I refer back to THIS blog entry.

To explain; in today’s mail I received a letter from the La Jolla Historical Society & other than the very fancy handwriting I didn’t really think any more of it until I was about to drop the discarded envelope in the recycle bin & noticed the black stamp. Thinking that it was a little unusual to see such a dark stamp color I looked a little closer to find that it was in fact the Man in Black himself – Johhny Cash on this most awesome of stamps!

Totally blown away by the awesomeness of the La Jolla Historical Society to care enough to use such a rocking stamp, I just absolutely had to photograph & share. Its the little things, the details, that really make something awesome. Design is everywhere, even where you least expect it, & it is always going to knock your socks off when its done well.

Makes me want to use snail mail more.

JLHS01

Leave a Reply

